Department or Program



The suite for woodwind quintet includes an array of different dances and contrapuntal forms. The first movement is a sarabande with strict five-part contrapuntal writing as a nineteenth century approach to chromatic harmony is explored. The second movement is a four-voice fugue in the locrian mode which also adheres to strict rules of counterpoint in the context of more contemporary harmony. The harmonies are structured in a way to outline the spooky and unresolved characteristic sound of the locrian mode. The fugue’s development consists of the subject and its three countersubjects in the context of techniques such as stretto, augmentation, etc. The fugue’s approach to conclusion consists of a four-part stretto with subject entries occurring in the respective keys that the fugue’s development explored. The third movement is a mazurka with a more baroque approach to harmony, where different parts of contrapuntal melodic lines are played by alternating instruments. The fourth movement is a baroque-styled four-voice ricercare that includes two different expositions followed by a development, where the subjects and countersubjects from both expositions are combined in contexts of stretto, augmentation, etc. The final movement is a fast waltz that uses a nineteenth century chromatic harmonic foundation while keeping a striking contrapuntal texture with a similar orchestration approach as in the mazurka. The suite is composed to explore strict contrapuntal bases in both more traditional and contemporary fugal environments in addition to three distinct triple-meter dances that include both baroque and nineteenth century chromatic harmonic approaches.

Level of Access

Open Access

First Advisor

Miura, Hiroya

Date of Graduation


Degree Name

Bachelor of Arts

Number of Pages


Components of Thesis

1 pdf file

Open Access

Available to all.